About Us

Our Purpose


About Matagorda County Drainage District No. 3: In Texas, drainage districts receive a portion of property taxes to construct and maintain ditches, canals and levees. Matagorda County Drainage District No. 3 was organized for this purpose in 1911. The governing board is composed of three commissioners appointed by the Matagorda County Commissioners’ Court for two-year terms and a coordinator is appointed by the board. The board has the authority to examine railroad culverts, ditches and other drainage structures on land in the district and can acquire right-of-ways for the purpose of surveying or drawing plans.

Matagorda County Drainage District No. 3 predominantly provides maintenance and spraying for the drain ditches throughout the district. In addition, the District assists when new culverts over ditches are planned. Annually, the district calls for maintenance and equipment bids and awards contracts to the successful bidders. The Board meets on the last Monday of each month. The agendas and minutes are available at the office in Palacios, Texas or on the website.


Matagorda County Drainage District No. 3



Bill Miller


Tommy Corporon


Homer Aparicio Jr.


Jeremy P. Hunt


Isidro Castanon



807 Henderson

Palacios, TX 77465



Matagorda County Drainage District No. 3